Rogers Park Golf Course, built in 1952, has evolved as one of Tampa, Florida's best-kept secrets. The beautiful 18-hole golf facility is steeped in history and rich in heritage.
The course offers a serene adventure and a great golfing experience for golfers of all skill levels. Located only 20 minutes from downtown Tampa, Tampa International Airport and the beautiful beaches of Tampa Bay, the 160-acre golf facility is surrounded on three sides by the Hillsborough River, which offers isolation from homes and the hustle and bustle of busy streets. Rogers Park Golf Course is the home of the Tampa City Men’s Open Championship and features one of Tampa's finest driving ranges. In addition, the 3-hole short game course offers an experience unique to this area.
During the days of segregation, Rogers Park was the only picnic area for the African-American community in Tampa. The park took the name of its contributor, G.D. Rogers. After church on Sundays, many families came to enjoy the swings, slides, baseball diamond and picnic area. Mayor Curtis Hixon gave permission to a group of caddies from Palma Ceia Country Club to build a 9-hole golf course. The first Head Golf Professional, Willie Black, directed his group of volunteers, and, with meticulous care, all of the tree removal and shaping was done by hand. Upon its completion in 1952, the Rogers Park Golf Club was born.
In 1976, the City of Tampa gave management rights to the newly formed Tampa Sports Authority, and a $400,000 renovation project began with Ron Garl as the designer. An irrigation system was installed, as well as expanding to another city-owned property across the street.
In 2000, the Tampa Sports Authority renovated again, but this time it was decided that a $4 million renovation was needed. The irrigation system was replaced, and the greens were completely rebuilt to modified USGA specifications. An array of other landscaping and reshaping of holes was added to enhance the character of Rogers Park Golf Course, and in 2001, a new maintenance compound was completed and followed by a new clubhouse in 2002.